A Recommendation – Sometimes I Lie

Sometimes I read modern books, but most of the time I read classic novels. Sometimes I receive book recommendations, but most of the time I air them with caution and never read them.  Sometimes it is best to go out of your comfort zone. I open with a list of three, echoing the front cover and front page of Alice Feeney’s debut novel, Sometimes I Lie, a psychological thriller, which I will discuss in due course.

Habitually, I read classic novels. I am drawn to these old favourites as I thoroughly enjoy the past and a good story. I sometimes feel that new novels have the risk of being less gripping or interesting as these famous books. Another element of why I read classic novels is because I am rather tight with money and you can always find a classic book in charity shops on demand. Whereas, the modern classics appear three, five, ten years after they have been published, but thankfully by that time you know whether a book is worth reading or not. So, when my colleague recommended her friend’s new book to me my first thoughts were, ‘is it actually going to be good?’ and ‘I don’t think I can afford a £7 book right now’. Nonetheless, after a few weeks I decided to at least look up the book on Amazon just to see what the fuss is about. Sometimes I Lie, had over 500 positive reviews along the lines of ‘gripping!’, ‘brilliant!’, ‘amazing twists!’, ‘couldn’t put it down!’, you can’t really argue with that and the book seemed worth a read. Moreover, it is only 99p on Kindle, result! I downloaded the book, began reading it one day before work and was hooked. A recommendation I was glad I received that pushed me out of my comfort zone and safety net of old books.

The problem with talking about Sometimes I Lie is that you can’t really talk about the book without giving too much of the plot away. What I can say is that it is a psychological thriller with twists and turns you would not expect. You’ll end up re-reading many a page three times just to check what you read was right. And as you progress through the novel your thoughts on where the story is going slowly dismantled page by page. To give a brief summary, Amber Reynolds is the protagonist and Feeney gives three plot points about Amber before you start the story, which are as follows;

  1. I’m in a coma
  2. My husband doesn’t love me any more
  3. Sometimes I lie

The first of these points tells you the situation of the book, whilst the other points linger in the back of your mind as you read the text. It is a clever story about family relations and I found my attachment to characters changed throughout. The book is in epistolary form, switching from Amber’s current thoughts to diary extracts 25 years before. That is the end of my book synopsis and this is where I stop discussing the novel. It is a relatively quick read and you will not be able to put the book down. I was completely engrossed and fanatically reading the book till 2:30am on a work night. What’s more, Sometimes I Lie is guaranteed to be made into a film sooner or later, so avoid having the story spoiled thorough the Hollywood hype and read the book now!

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

